Taking 5 minutes off Facebook to post my drivel in a slightly longer format.

I thought I would pre-empt the usual “Blog every day this year!” 1st of January post by ushering in the age of the short-lived but well-intentioned “Blog every day for the rest of 2014!” 30th December post. How well it catches on remains to be seen.

I’m not a consistent blogger. To be honest, I’m not a consistent *anything*, and sometimes that bothers me. And other times it doesn’t… because I can’t even be consistent about that. But I do like to write and I kick myself that I don’t do it more.. so this year, for the cazguillionth year running, I shall be attempting to make the effort to be creative every day. In theory this should be easy. I work in a creative field, and when I’m not working I have plenty of time. However, the small snappy chihuahua of mental instability is forever nipping at my ass, and I suspect the fact my ass is gravitating forever south isn’t helping any.

In a nutshell, I write this blog in an attempt to maybe just raise a smile or two, with varying degrees of success. My problem is that some days I can’t raise a smile myself. Some days I struggle to breathe under the weight of it all and it’s just not funny. And I don’t want to heap that up on your mailbox when all you want to do is just get on with your personal crapola without listening to mine.

So, I’m pondering this… and would value your opinion.

Considering I haven’t posted in over a year,( and haven’t consistently posted in closer to 2 ), it’s astounding that I still have a pretty hefty number of subscribers. I can only assume that I am largely forgotten and that folk are relatively lax on the “unsubscribing from lazy-ass bloggers who can’t be bothered to make an effort” front. It’s nice, and I would like to do my best not to upset those people who are mostly here for the lolz and bizarro chicken posts.

I’m thinking about either starting up a new blog which will probably head in a different direction ( less zombie chickens and lesbian-schoolgirl-seeking traffic ) and of a more serious nature, probably fiction … or I can split this one with tags but run the risk of people who like the general silliness not liking the new slightly-less-silliness and un-subscribing and taking their business elsewhere. Which would make me sad.
Of course there’s always the possibility that the old folk will like the new stuff… I just don’t know. It probably won’t be very good, I haven’t written fiction since I used to get around a table with my dinosaur chums on a Saturday night and brainstorm ideas about exciting new concept of fire, but that doesn’t mean I shouldn’t give it a go.

So, if you happen to read this I would appreciate a vote. My expectations aren’t high though, it’s been a while.

And as a thank you please feel free to enjoy what is most definitely the most unflattering picture of me EVER. Cos you just can’t have too many shots of the inside of my nostrils.

I know, I'm sexy.

I know, I’m sexy.

3 thoughts on “Taking 5 minutes off Facebook to post my drivel in a slightly longer format.

  1. Hey, it’s good to see you again! 🙂 Your blogging inconsistency makes me feel better about my own, so don’t feel bad 🙂 I keep meaning to write more on my blog, maybe I will… who knows? But I shall be glad to see any posts you manage this year and any year.

Leave a Reply

